Code Name Bananas

Agastya S Ahuja
2 min readJun 12, 2022

--

The author of this book is none other than David Walliams.

I’m sure that most of you would be familiar with Mr Walliams as he is an EXTREMELY wonderful author who has written some very nice children’s books.

I like him so much that I have done quite a few blogs on his books already that you can read here, here and here.

This BY FAR is my most favourite book of his. It just has such an interesting story, and it creates a wonderful image in my head each time I read it (Which is about 25 times!).

I have this book on my kindle. Sadly, kindles don’t show the colour for the illustrations in the book. But I’m sure the colours would be wonderful! (As they usually are in his books).

The story really has a lot of detail in it. There’s only one main part to the story, yet the book is pretty thick.

The main characters in this book are Eric and his Great Grandfather, Sidney Pratt. Though Eric likes calling him “Uncle Sid”. Uncle Sid is a zookeeper. Eric also wants to be a zookeeper when he grows up. Both of them are madly in love with the zoo’s only gorilla, Gertrude. But one sad day, when Uncle Sid sneaks Eric into the zoo without having to be paid, he gets caught by the extremely posh zoo director general. Uncle Sid loses his job as a zookeeper, and the director general and his two henchmen are ordered to kill Gertrude. Or will they… Read the book to find out more!

My other favourite thing about this book is its many funny characters. I’ll tell you a couple of their names: Parker the Parrot, Ernie the Elephant, Sassy the Seal, Totter the Tortoise, and Botty the Baboon! There are way more though.

For anyone wondering why the title is called ‘Code Name Bananas’, I can give you a hint: Gertrude’s favourite food is bananas! Read the book to find out more about the title.

See you at my next blog!

--

--