The Day I was Erased

Agastya S Ahuja
2 min readJun 12, 2022

--

The author of this book is Lisa Thompson.

I have recently just finished a blog on another one of her books, which you can read here.

Really, the main part of this story is when Maxwell (the main character) finds himself instantly erased from life as he is rummaging through his good neighbour’s cupboard. Yes! As if he wasn’t born! He doesn’t know how it happens. At first, he sort of likes being non-born, not getting into trouble (which he usually does) and just living his own way of life! But there’s one major thing he hates about not being born. Saving his puppy. You see, back in his real world, he was walking along the street when he finds a cute puppy about to be run over by a car. He saves him (so kind!), and is allowed to keep him as a pet. Now, since he ‘isn’t born’, he wouldn’t be able to save his pup! There were lots of other downsides too. Like his best friend, Charlie, being tormented by the school bully. Or take his sister for example. She was always Miss ‘Goody-Pants’ being a good girl while he was living at home, but since he is erased from life, she has been robbing jewellery stores.

As he wandered past the neighbourhood each day, he carefully thought about what made him erased from existence. Then one day, he just got it. He immediately ran back to his neighbour’s house, and did everything that he did before but in the opposite way. For example, if he were to play a tune on a music box, he would play the same tune in reverse.

I honestly felt really sad and heartbroken when I was reading this book. I began to imagine the frustration he would be going through. I wanted to quit halfway through but it was the suspense that kept me going. After each chapter, I was always like “what's going to happen next?” I felt extremely convinced that this book was easily one of the best books I’ve read.

I highly recommend this book to everyone!

See you at my next blog!

--

--