Premier’s Reading Challenge 2021

Agastya S Ahuja
2 min readJun 6, 2021

--

Pie Rats Book 1: The FORGOTTEN MAP

Hello everyone,

Today is my 2nd book blog for 2021! Today I will be writing about the Pie Rats.

The author of this book(series of six) is Cameron Stelzer (local Brisbane author and illustrator).

I decided to write the blog on this book because the author (Cameron Stelzer) visited our school and signed my copies of the first two books. See below.

The main characters of this book are: Captain Black Rat (leader), Fish Eye Fred (chef), Ruby Rat (neice of captain), Hook Hand Horace (smallest pie rat), Pencil Leg Pete (quartermaster), smudge (mascot) and last but not the least, Whisker (apprentice).

A thing that I really enjoyed was the fact that Whisker, never gave up and didn’t lose hope. He always knew that he would see his parents again! This made me want to read the next book in the series because I wanted to find the parents.

I really liked the fact that there was a map at the front of the book and everytime it said a place that was on the map in the book, I would go back to the map and see the place. This made it a lot more interesting.

I also liked that he (the author) has used lots of descriptive words to make a clearer picture in my mind. (Ex. Smudge gave the captain a two-armed salute and drifted off in to the darkness.)

Have you read this book? What do you think of this book?

--

--